1
2
What are Permissions?
Permissions define the type of access granted
to a user, group, or computer to access resource
objects.
Permissions can be applied to resources objects such as
files, folders, and printers
Like: Privilege to read a file, delete a file, or to create a
new file in folder.
Permissions can be assigned to users and groups in
Active Directory or on a local computer
3
4
What Are Shared Folders?
You can share only folders, not files
Default permission on shared folders is Everyone, Read
When you copy or move a shared folder, the folder is no
longer shared
To hide a shared folder, include a $ after the name of
the shared folder
Users access hidden shares by typing the UNC path
5
Types of Permissions
Share Level Permissions:
Can be Implemented on NTFS and FAT partitions
Applies to Share Folders only and can be access from
Network
Share Permissions can be set only on Drives and
Folders
Different Share Permissions are Read, Change, Full
Control
6
Types of Permissions
Security Level Permissions:
Can be Implemented Only on NTFS partitions
Applies to Local NTFS Drives only
NTFS Permissions can be set on Drives, Files and
Folders
Different Permissions are Full Control, Modify, Read
& Execute, Write, Read, List Folder Contents
File permissions override folder permissions
Creators of files and folders are their owners
7
When you copy files and folders, they
inherit the permissions of the destination folder
When you move files and folders to a different partition,
they inherit the permissions of the destination folder
When you move files and folders within the same
partition, they retain their permissions
Effects on NTFS Permissions When Copying or
Moving Files and Folders
8
NTFS Partition
E:\
NTFS Partition
C:\
NTFS Partition
D:\
Move
Move
Copy
Effects on NTFS Permissions When Copying or
Moving Files and Folders
9
What Is Offline Files?
Offline Files is a document-management
feature that provides the user with consistent online
and offline access to network files.
Advantages of using Offline Files:
Support for mobile users
Automatic synchronization etc
10
How Offline Files Are Synchronized
Disconnected from the network
Files are synchronized at logoff. The user
works with the locally cached copy
Logged on to the network
Files are synchronized at logon. The user works with
the network version of the files
If a file has been modified in both locations
The user must choose which version of the file to
keep or to rename one file and keep both versions
No comments:
Post a Comment